Please open a ticket.


Quality in a service or product is not what you put into it.
It is what the client or customer gets out of it.

-Peter Drucker

If you are like me, you are an avid gamer, you play pc and console games, and you are no stranger to the online gaming experience.

I have found that there are constants that run synonymous through every single game we play online. You have the grind, end game instances, gearing up, guild mates and community.

There is something that is missed sometimes, and that something is very important, as a matter of fact it is vital to gaming.

What I am talking about today is the game masters (GM) and others who we can place in a category called customer service, or CS from here on in.

No matter what game you play, or where in the world you play it, we all have at one time or another been at the whim of the CS people when we are in a bind. Our characters get stuck? They are there to help. Account hacked? No problem. In-game UI not working? They have the technology to save the day.

I have heard many, many players grief and go on about how horrible the GM’s of such and such game are, or how the CS people don’t listen to them, and only care about issues pertaining to payment issues. I have, in my extensive experience, not seen this to be the case.

I have seen these employees go out of their way to help out players, and to make sure that everyone is having a fun and balanced time in whatever game world they may inhabit. They stay late, put in extra hours, and generally will go out of their way to help you.

We sometimes forget that part of our monthly fee (or item mall purchases) in a game goes to pay for the GM’s and CS. We tend to look at them as some sort of semi-present babysitter, however I don’t think this is the case. I think they are gamers too, who enjoy and love and are passionate about what they do, an want to share that with the players they are there to help. I think the bad rap they get are from players trying to exploit, or those who they just did not agree with. It is human nature to be petty, and it is unfortunate that it occurs even when we are sitting in front of our keyboards.

So, in the spirit of the holiday season, please raise whatever it is you are drinking, and toast those silent masses of customer service folks, game masters, forum moderators, and anyone else who is behind the scenes to make your game time more enjoyable,valuable and informative.

They are there to help, and if you get a chance to do so, thank them. I am sure it will go a long way.

-wtap

Questions? Comments? Ideas for the Opinion column? Email me at wtap@novogradtimes.com.

    • Briseadh
    • December 23rd, 2009

    I’ll agree to this and toast these workers. I’ve had plenty of great help and conversations with these people on every game I’ve played and I’ve had some pretty crazy bugs happen to me or a member of a group I’ve been with.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

